In Reply to “Add Christianity to the Mix”

*Why Teach?*
I aspire to teaching for a variety of reasons. Teaching (to my understanding) is a role that will work upon/validate the existing skill sets I have developed to date as a youth worker. Teaching will draw upon my strengths as a presenter and someone deeply interested in engaging others in dialogue, discussion and debate. Also, the profession of teaching presents a lifestyle that I think will be attractive. It is my hope that teaching will allow me to travel. It will also offering me a skill with which I can, maybe someday, deliver aid into communities abroad (i.e. teaching in developing nations). The profession of teaching is thus a formalization of many different aspects of me. The process of learning how to teach is also attractive and something that I feel is a means to serve God’s will for my life.

*What Will Love Look Like in my Classroom?*
I posit three premises that I will use to guide my classroom:
1. I wish to maintain a classroom that acknowledges the unique qualities and strengths inherit in all human beings, and the inherit value of all human life, as informed by understanding of Christ’s love of all people. It is my goal to not only demonstrates a profound respect for these qualities, but to model them as a value system adopted by all human beings (or any other non-human rational actors) that pass through the door into my classroom.
2. At all times I will strive to deliver the best quality teaching I can with an awareness of empirically evaluated teaching strategies, and an awareness of the limitation of the empirical process in evaluating that effectiveness of a process for teaching. (I think this is sometimes call ‘Right Thinking’.)
3. By fulfilling the above two criteria, I will be contributing to a dissemination of God’s love and respect for all people in the world.

There is obviously more to what I intend to bring to my classroom, but my main point is that I intend to bring God’s love to my classroom through a thought-out process aware of the lessons of the history, science and art of the world. However, I will also bring God’s love to my classroom by maintaining an orientating respect for all people that I will assert even when it is uncomfortable. As a Psychology student, it has been drilled into my mind that I, as all humans are, have certain tendencies towards the process of thought. We are duped by optical illusions that are not present, and we exhibit likewise behaviours in our interpretation of the world because we have an active desire to see the world in a particular way and we will, perhaps unconsciously, change the way we see our world to accommodate our existing notion of a worldview.

Empiricism has been given the weight it has because there have been a lot of examples of persistent bias that are totally unfounded and profoundly hurtful towards the world at large (see: racism; https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Racism ). These wrong attitudes are entrenched in the status quo of our world and often times no one in power is motivated to change them. Empiricism can, at times, be a liberator to this end. Empiricism can help us narrow our perspective, focus on one specific quality, isolate our observations of the quality from our bias, and gain an understanding of the issue with (hopefully) less bias.

However, empirical results can be easily manipulated and incorrectly derive conclusions from an inappropriate exclusion one set of variables from another (see: racism; http://www.halfsigma.com/2006/06/blacks_genetica.html ). Consequently, we need to be able to use our ability to evaluate the world around us and question it regardless of the source. We need to engage in this process of questioning as a means to constantly assessing with the fullest capacity of our emotional and rational faculty (because when something doesn’t feel right, we need to figure out why) whether or engaging in the world around us with a focus on maintaining item 1.

To that end, I am going to add a fourth item to my list of guiding premises:
4. Never stop questioning authority. The world’s over you; yours over yourself and your actions.

– nathan

Join the Discoussion!

